Deer in DC

After working my tail off at work last night, a long run was on the agenda.  A solid 10 mile run at a 7:55 pace.  With sore legs, I was wondering how well the run would go.  After the first mile I got into the groove.  I was feeling it and ended up with an average pace of 7:13.  I was stoked to see that at the end.  However, what made this run so nice was finding a new place to run to in DC.  From the hustle and bustle of my neighborhood, I ran through DuPont, over to Georgetown and up to the Palisades.  At mile 5 I turned around for an average out and back, but this was not the average back.  at mile 6 I came up to a wooded area in the city and there was a lady standing there, wearing running clothes and looking into the wooded area.  So, I slowed down and took a look for myself, and what did I see; A 10 point buck (that’s a male deer for all you that didn’t know).  After standing there for a couple of minutes and just watching another buck walks out, a 6 pointer this time.  Now you have to remember that in North Carolina, they would have been on the dinner table that night.  After another couple of minutes, another 6 pointer walks out.   Three bucks in DC?!? Not to mention that they were only probably 50 feet from us, AMAZING!

For some reason this experience made me feel like I was back in North Carolina.  It made me feel like I was home.  It made me see that I had found a new place to run all the time.  Like the place was calling my name.  That even these deer, like me, have to deal with the craziness of the city but they too can have fun in the city. Was it a sign that I can live in the city and still do what I want, heck, they were.  It gave me motivation to push through the last miles and put a huge smile on my face.  The smallest things in life can impact you the most!

Leave a Reply

