Lifestyle of FUN

The weekend is almost here, at last!  With the week almost coming to an end, the weekend plans are already being made, for training that is.  I know most people, well people who are not addicted to training and that kind of lifestyle, get super stoked about weekend parties.  For me, and my friends, the weekend parties start early in the morning and go for most of the day.  Saturday is going to be a solid brick, swim then bike then a run.  Sunday is a long run which should be super fun, cold but fun, since running is pretty much my favorite thing to do.

Speaking of the triathlete lifestyle I have come to realize that if you don’t do one, or train for one,  you really just don’t get the lifestyle.  Most of my family is finally getting it, when I say I have to do a short bike of 50 miles or a short fun of 13 miles, they get it.  A couple of years ago they would say that is not short, but now they know going long is what I am all about.  Even my grandma said to me that you are doing a marathon, that’s it, no swimming or biking.  It is good to see that they are embracing my lifestyle choice.  It is a healthy lifestyle to have.  I go to bed early, don’t party like most people my age and in my location, I eat healthy, I get workouts in no matter what my work schedule is, and I have fun.  Having fun is the main thing.  In the past fun has been there but not waking up every morning and saying this is going to be a great day, fun before work or after depending on the training session I am going to do that day.  Triathlons have helped me through some serious parts of my life.  I got into the whole thing when I watched the World Championships when I was living in Kona.  I moved there to surf and left a triathlete surfer.  It has helped me through my some pretty hard times in my life, my friends know what I am talking about, and it is helping me see what I want to do with my life, where I want to be in my life, and what I want out of life.  Some people spend years searching for something like that, and it took me one morning to see what I wanted.

I am striving to get to Kona and race there, to race at the place that changed my life.  Yea, I can go there and see it but I want to race the race that helped me change my lifestyle.  It is going to be a great year or working to that goal, and who knows what will come this year.  My main focus is St. George, everything I do revolves around that May 7th day.  I can’t explain it, it is something that will be emotional and very rewarding to me.

Okay, well that was a different kind of post today but you get what I am saying right?  I have found the lifestyle that is me, it completes me.  It makes me feel happy in the morning and happy when I am in bed at 9pm saying to myself, oh man I am getting to bed late tonight.  It has also shown me what I want to do for a job in my future, sitting inside behind a desk is not me, being outside and helping people achieve their goals is what I want.  Steps are being made for that now and the future is looking great.  I get it, if you don’t tri.

Leave a Reply

