Sick of being Sick

Well I knew this time would come, it comes every year.  This year it came a little later than normal, I am sick.  I don’t get sick, I hate being sick, but it has finally come.  It most likely has to do with the weather, being that it is super cold outside and yet I am still trying to get my workouts done outside.  It does not help that I am pretty stubborn when it comes to training outside.  Running, I will do it any time outside, cold, hot, snowy, blistering hot, I love running.  But I guess now I am paying for that.

Enough about being sick for now, lets talk about something that has been with me for years and something that keeps me going, even in times of sickness, the running.  Running, what a fun thing.  I say to that most people and they think I am crazy, they say how can you like running, I see running as something that I have to do.  Almost like a chore.  But to me, running is where I am at peace, a place where I can let everything go and listen to my breathing and I get to know myself.  Yes, you might think this sounds crazy, and sometimes it does to me too.  But have you ever been to a place, a physical place or even a state of mind place, where you feel relaxed.  Well, that place is running to me.  It makes me feel alive, at peace, and it lets me get back to what I love doing every time I lace up the shoes, or put the five fingers on.  This week, you should try it.  Put on your shoes, not as a chore, but as a place to find yourself.  Don’t put the shoes on because you have to, put them on so you can go out and think and try to find yourself.  Believe me, attitude is everything.

I read a great article the other day about training and being sick.  It helped me see what I should do when I am sick and what should not be done.  To any of you that think you can’t workout while being sick, it says to use the neck rule.  The neck rule means that if the sickness is above the neck, light workouts can be done.  This means that if you have a runny nose, sore eyes, pretty much a sinus thing, you should be good for light workouts.  And then there is the below the neck, coughing, mucus coming up, and things to that nature.  It says that you should not workout when you have things like that.  So, take it for what it’s worth, I know I do…

And for more sickness talk, WHY…

So today the swimming is off, coughing is not that great for the pool.  And the congestion, yea not another good pool idea.  Working from home today, which I hate, so hopefully tomorrow this will be done and passed.  For now, a little more rest time until the workday starts.  And don’t worry, I will be posting another video tomorrow morning from, hopefully, the pool.  Make it a great day everyone.

Leave a Reply

