I am.

Okay well after the weekend, the week is finally here.  And what an interesting week it should be.  With the weather warming up I thought the spring was finally here, but again, it is just a tease.  Today high 65 degrees, tomorrow high, 34 and snow… What are ya’ ganna do.

Well the post today makes me see what really matters in life.  I got a comment yesterday that really meant a lot to me, thanks Matt.  It was from Matt, a dude that lived in the same house with me in my college days on Seagull st., RIP Seagull party house!  He was posting about getting older and how your gills never dry up until you are in the ground (That means surfing for you guys that don’t surf).  It got me thinking what am I?  Who am I?

It is something hard to think about.  Some might answer the question as, I am a doctor, I am a lawyer, I am___________, you fill in the blank.  For me it comes easy, I am a son, I am a brother, I am a pet owner (to the best dog in the world), I am a runner, I am a surfer, I am a triathlete, I am a spiritual seeker, I am _______________, this blank is open so I can fill it in when my path in life changes.  And it does change, it changes all the time.  Some people might say it never changes, but it does.  You can go from living in a huge house one day with a killer job, then the next, you are in an apartment with barely anything and eating soup for dinner (not saying that this is me or anything… it is).  However, you are what you want to be.  For me one of the main things in my life that makes me who I am is that I am a runner.  This might sound weird, strange, or even crazy to you guys.  But running has been with me in times that I really need answers, and also times where I needed answers but decided to clear my head and just run.

Running for me is a mind clearing event.  There is only one other thing in life that I have found that can do this, surfing.  For now, since DC has no waves, I am seeing that maybe I am meant to be a runner.  I love it, I can go for hours, haha.  Anyways, it is something about being out there and having fun while running.  Take yesterday for example.  I am training for a couple Ironmans right now, as you know, and I went on a training run which was supposed to be 60 minutes.  Well… The 60 minutes turned into 95 minutes and led me to the trails again.  When I was on the trail, I found a rock that looked perfect to sit on and reflect.  It was a different kind of sitting and thinking.  I was sitting there, in silence, for once, and looking across the river to Georgetown, where I could see tall buildings, traffic jams, and people in a hurry to get places.  It was like I was sitting there in the past, I mean like before cars and buildings, and then looking in the future, seeing what our future was going to be like.  It hurt to see me sitting on a rock, dead silent, and then just one mile across the river see what our society has become.  Right there, it made me see that I love the old ways.  I miss dead silence while running, not the horns of people being impatient while waiting at a stoplight.  Okay, enough rambling here…

I AM____?  A strong question for Monday morning but something to think about.  It is perfectly clear for me, I am a runner.  What are you?

This is what I felt like yesterday when I was looking into the future of our country from the trail.  This is Anton Krupicka who is the man! I wanna run with him one day.

3 responses

  1. Matt Friend

    You cannot run away from a weakness; you must sometimes fight it out or perish. And if that be so, why not now, and where you stand?
    — Robert Louis Stevenson

    February 21, 2011 at 9:09 am

  2. Matt Friend

    Few men have virtue to withstand the highest bidder.
    – George Washington (First United States President)

    Am I not destroying my enemies when I make friends of them?
    – Abraham Lincoln (16th United States President)

    Men are not prisoners of fate, but only prisoners of their own minds.
    – Franklin D. Roosevelt (32nd United States President)

    In matters of style, swim with the current; in matters of principle, stand like a rock.
    – Thomas Jefferson (third President of the United States)

    February 21, 2011 at 9:12 am

    • Matt,
      Good quotes! They are perfectly fitting for anyone looking for a new path in life.

      February 21, 2011 at 9:29 am

Leave a Reply

