Welcome to the Week

Holy cow, the weekend flew by and so much was done.  Starting out on Friday, my buddy Phil that just got back from Central American with the Marines wanted to hang out.  We ended up going downtown to watch the Carolina game, and thank goodness UNC won.  We met up with some friends downtown that I have not seen in over 3 years and it was great to hang out with them again, even though they don’t remember it.  We stayed sober, like always and just had some fun.  Oh yea totally forgot, I got Maui on Friday so I had to show her a great weekend back.  Maui is my 8-year-old yellow lab who is in love with the beach!

Saturday was slammed backed, a long run at the beach in the morning which was much-needed.  I have not run long there in years and miss it a lot, only one thing that I wished it had, hills.  I love running hills.  Call me crazy but that is my strength, hills, and running at that.  After the flat long run, Target was on the agenda.  With Maui just getting back,  I took her along too.  Not in Target but she rode with me and made sure the back seat was sitting right.  We were heading home when Andrea called to go to the beach.  We walked Maui around the beach for a while, saw some old friends and then headed home.  After dropping Andrea off, I looked back in the back seat and Maui was out.  We got home and she literary, ate dinner, burped, then fell asleep.  Saturday night was another amazing time.  There was a cookout at the friends from Friday night’s house so I called up Andrew and we cruised over for a little bbq.  We had some fun there, meeting some new people and talking story and had some killer food.

Sunday was the long bike day.  Waking up it looked like it was going to be a chilly ride.  Well, it turned out to be not so chilly but super windy.  Pat and I rode to Fort Fisher and we were in a tail wind the whole way there.  Once we turned around to head back, BAMMM, 30 mph head wind.  With only doing 40 in the wind, I knocked out another 20 on the trainer watching the UNC game and then continued watching basketball all afternoon and night with my roommate.  It was one of those rides where you finish up and feel great, you feel like you should after a short spin session.  With the clock counting down till St. George, I hope the training continues this way!

Another great weekend in the books. Now to start the work week and enjoy work, which I totally do!  Have a great week everyone!

Leave a Reply

