Boston Weekend

Racer number 21585

Well, this is the weekend where I get to run one of the most prestigious running races in the world, The Boston Marathon.  Never in my wildest dreams would I have thought that this weekend would happen.  Looking back, I guess my whole life has been set up to run a race like this.  I am a highly competitive person and if I do something, I want to push myself to be the best, or close to the best.  I was talking about it with a friend the other day and he is the same way, for him and myself just going to do a race won’t happen.  We want to race the race and try to place high in the rankings.

Okay so this is a random post but it shows how I got to Boston.

Endurance athletes are a different bread.  We wake up early to train, think about training while at work (for those of us that have a “real grown up” job, and train after work.  It is hard for people who are not endurance athletes to understand.  Some do understand so that helps out.  Running this weekend has not really been a dream for me.  I don’t know why but it just hasn’t, it is another race.  But it is the Boston Marathon and now I am getting excited.  It is going to a great race, for the main reason, I am guiding one of the coolest Canadians I know, Robbie Burt.  He has a five-year plan that leads him to the Paralympics.  I am going to do my best to help him get there, starting with this weekends race.

Other marathons are being sought out for the rest of the year and ending the year with a 50k.  Getting back into just running and running long distance is what I love, where I feel at home, just me and my thoughts, and maybe a good song every once in a while.  With some big races next year, this year is all about getting an amazing base down so I can easily run at least 6 hours and be fine.  Sounds crazy to some but sounds like a fun day to me.  Come on, you know me!

With the week ending and an incredible weekend about to start, be looking at the blog for a race recap.  The race recap is going to be sent out in a local triathlon newsletter about guiding at Boston.  I can’t wait to write it and it is going to be an honor to guide Robbie this weekend.  So, with that being said, let the weekend start, well in 5 more hours it will start.  Have a killer weekend to all and enjoy the sunshine! Happy Aloha Friday to all!

One response

  1. Good Luck Chris!!

    April 15, 2011 at 9:26 am

Leave a Reply

