Decisions Decisions

Okay so I need to start thinking about some things for next year, race wise.  It sounds crazy to have to think about this now for races next summer but I have to.  It is two totally different types of training.  So here is the complications, I love the Ironman distance, love trying to push myself for hours and hours with three disciplines total.  I love the training, the swimming, biking I have learned to love, and then my favorite, running.  However, I do what to have one ultra year, where all I do is run, train for 50 and 100 mile trail races.  I don’t know what to do…

With the Ironman distance, it is much like this video:

It is a lot of training and months of saving for an event like that.  I love it though, and from my first one, I am not that bad at it.  I have learned to push through pain and rest when I cross the finish line.  The feeling I got when I crossed the line at St. George was amazing and I want to feel that again and again and again and well you get the picture.

Then there are the ultras, all running.  Running for hours and hours which I love.  I love running if you didn’t know that about me.  I just don’t know what to do.  The training is totally different, different coaches, different vibes and different atmospheres.  A whole different ball game.

With some thinking to do before July I am going to mainly focus on the olympic distance tri in three weeks.  Something to kick start the training for my iron distance race at the end of year.  If you have any insights, please let me know.  Have a great hump day everyone!

Leave a Reply

