Remember…

With the Memorial Day weekend approaching, many people see it as a day that you have off of work and you can spend an extra day on vacation.  But this weekend is a weekend to remember out past.

Everyone that lives in America should be thankful on this weekend.  Our soldiers have died for us and so that we can be free.  Whatever your thoughts are about our military, what we should or should not do, where we should be or should not be, put that aside and use this weekend as a remembrance for our fallen soldiers.

I have a lot of friends that are in or have been in the military.  Thank you so much for what you have and are doing for America.  Okay so here is where I tell you a secret that I have had for a while.  I have always wanted to be in the U.S. Navy.  It has been a dream I have had since high school.  When I was 18 years old I, like all males on their 18th birthday, had to sign up for the draft and get a draft card.  When I send mine in I got a letter back denying my acceptance.  Many people would look a this as a relief, know that if things went down and the draft was put into action I would not have to go.  Well, I was super bummed.  To this day I want to be in the Navy.  Due to my eye disease and my screw in my knee I will not be able to join, unless the standards change.  I actually looked it up today and the age to enter is 17-29 years old.  That leaves me one year to have the standards change.  I am not saying that I am going to run out and join today or tomorrow, but it is saying that if there was an opportunity to join, it would be a serious decision that I would totally think about.

Call me crazy, call  me nuts, but fighting for our country hits home for me.  My grandfathers were in the military, one in Navy and one in Army, and coming from that background, I would like to be able to consider being able to join.

Okay, well this weekend everyone have fun.  Be safe and be smart.  Remember what the weekend is all about! If you see a military person out, buy them a beer, a meal, and say thank you!  Thank you Tyson and Hoot Stahl, Philip Tysinger, Richard David Tilley, my grandfathers and all my other friends for doing what you do!

Leave a Reply

