Great Surprising Week

Holy cow, if you told me one year ago that I would be where I am at today I would not believe you.  A lot has happened this past year.  The whole reason I am thinking about this today is that I talked to one of my best friends ever today and this Saturday is our 1 year anniversary.  It sounds silly but she has been there for me through so much crap.  We have grown together and have become best friends.  Stephanie lives in DC and I am in North Carolina now but we talk weekly and we actually get to race together in August.  That will be talked about soon.  I miss her, and all of my other hommies in DC but making the move to NC was the perfect thing that I needed.  I have grown so much in life and in racing.

Okay, so to the racing.  I got invited to the USAT Age Group National Championships in August.  The race is in Burlington, Vermont but it will be well worth the trip.  And yes, driving is how I am getting there.  We are going to have a great long road trip up north.  By we I mean a group of us that train together here in Wilmington are all going up there to race.  I would have never thought I would be going one year ago.  The race I qualified at was Kerr Lake, a race that I do for fun.  It is a race where my family is and they don’t get to see me race much so I go there every year so they can watch.  Well while I was racing, I was just having fun, cause that’s what racing is all about, having fun.  It turns out that racing for fun lead me to a PR by 7 minutes and 1st in my age group.  So, Steph qualified for National’s also and we get to race together.  We have never done that and I am so excited to be on the race course with her.  She is super fast and it will be awesome to get to see her and race with her. I hope I can keep up with her.

Ah yes, the move is happening this weekend also.  Totally moved into my new place by Saturday night and I can’t wait.  It is another good move, I am hoping, and having a roommate that also is in full training mode always helps.

Have a great rest of the week everyone and have fun in life, it is too short not to.  Aloha everyone!

Leave a Reply

