Crunch Time

Almost one week out from the Age Group National’s race and I am super nervous.  Looking at the times from last year, which are super fast for my age group, the wheels are starting to spin upstairs… Am I fast enough?  Will I get by smashed?  How fast can I actually do to leave nothing in the tank?  One thing is sure though, I am going to put it out there and see what I can go!  The training is being done for an iron distance race and it is totally different from an olympic distance race.  I have been doing shorter distances over the past week and will continue to do that until the race and pick back up with iron distance training after Nationals.  It sounds nice huh, going shorter?  But that also means faster, faster everything.  I did a time trials swim yesterday, a 1500 meter swim, to see what, or if my time has gone down from when I qualified.  The answer, yes! It has gone down by almost 8 minutes.  THANK YOU to my swim coach, Jay Carmine for kicking my ass week in and week out to get my swim times down.  The bike, I did a time trials on the trainer, and yes I know it is not the same but rode hard for an hour and was almost at the 40k mark so that is looking like a solid time for that discipline.  Then comes the run, which is my favorite part of any race.  I know I can hold 6 minute pace for the 10k so let hope that the race goes good and it actually happens.

With all the fast people there, I am going to be in heaven… For those of you who know me, you know exactly what I am talking about.  It should be a super fast, super fun race, despite the 17 hour drive one way.  Luckily, I think my brother Will might be joining me for the overnight dive to the way North.  With time coming down to the wire, training is going to be my life for the next week, so if I don’t post, look forward to the pictures and the race recap after the race. Have a great rest of the week everyone!

aloha y’all

Leave a Reply

