How far have you come

With the last Iron distance race coming up in just over two weeks I have been doing a lot of thinking about where I have come from, how far I have come, and how I have changed through training and in life.  This is a different kind of post, not the normal training thoughts, but life thoughts.  Too many people just think about training and not how far they have come in life due to training.  Take a guy I know for example, he is doing a half iron distance race in a couple of weeks.  He has lost over 75 pounds and has changed his life.  Changing of ones life to get healthy is a huge thing that I love seeing, this can be in aspects of training and mentally.  I am sure when he was over weight, he was not as happy as he is now, was not motivated as he is now, and didn’t think about health as much as he does now.

So, you are probably thinking where am I going with this one… Well, I am going to tell you how training has changed my life and where I have come from to get where I am today, in life and in training.

Six years ago I was working at Jerry Allen’s sports bar, cooking.  I partied, a bit too much, smoked cigaretts like they were going out of style, and ran after work with a couple of cooks that I worked with.  We ran so we could go out that night, that was our deal, if we want to party we need to do something to be healthy before.  I graduated from community college and went to visit a friend out in Hawaii.  Little did I know, this little 3 month vacation would lead to a life changing trip.  My roommate out there was an Ironman, she has done countless Ironman’s all over the world and so I thought about it and thought, this chick is crazy.  Look who’s talking now, I am the crazy one, thanks Lisa, you are the best!!!

Ironman was taking place while I was living out there so we went out of our back yard to the famous Alii drive to watch it.  Alii drive is the road where the run starts and finishes and we were lucky enough to live on that road and able to see everything.  Okay, back to changing my life… While watching it I said to myself, “I want that.  I want to do this”.  At the time I did not own a bike, I swam a little bit, while I was spear fishing or surfing and ran only 5 miles at a time.  After the race, a bike was bought and swimming was second nature, I was an ocean rescue officer for a couple of years.

Fast forward to today.  In the past year I have done a lot, more than any books tell you to do.  I have done 3 marathons, 2 olypmic distance triathlons, 1 Ironman and will be competing in one more Iron distance race in a couple of weeks. So what I have I learned about myself in just the past year:

1. Family and friends are more important than any race, training, or trip

2. Ice baths SUCK!

3. Running and surfing is where I feel at home and feel like I get my mind right

4. You need to have friends outside of the running and triathlons to help you balance out your life

5. The most important one! There is more to life than racing

Number 5 is what I have learned the most.  I was all wrapped up into the scene and forgot about friends and family.  For that I apologize and I know I can’t go back and change it.  My mind has changed and I have learned this the hard way.  Thank you to all my family and friends who have stuck with me through the past year, and even the past 5 years of racing.  The next time you feel like you are racing a lot and all wrapped up in it, sit back and think, why did I get into this?  It should be fun, life should be fun, and if it isn’t fun, well you might want to think about a change or a rest.

In the end the main thing that I have learned is to have fun.  Whatever it may be, you need to have fun in life.  Right now, I am having fun with training, it is taper mode so I am having fun but still training.  After B2B I am selling my bike, actually it is already sold and he is picking it up after the race.  I am going to have fun, life is too short not too.  A beach cruiser is going to be my bike, swimming will be there weekly (going to see how long I can swim in the channel over the winter) and running will always be there.  So, think about it, are you really having fun?  Do what you want, have fun with it.  People are too serious a lot of their life and forget about fun time.  Act like a little kid every once and a while, believe me it will take you back to the fun days in life.

This is a random post, I know, but I have been doing a lot of thinking lately due to the training, the time and the amazing things that are happening in my life.  I can honestly say I am happy.  I am happy I am selling my bike and going to be riding a sick beach cruiser, I am happy that I am going to start surfing more, I am happy with work, I am happy with bee (you know who you are), I am happy with my friends and family, I am overall happy.  I would not change my past for one penny, I have learned a lot in the past to make me be the happiest person I have ever been today.

Have a great day and stay strong, and don’t forget to smile, be happy, and have fun!

One response

  1. That is very inspiring and so true my friend…I lived that same life for many years as a bodybuilder and powerlifter. I wouldn’t eat with family at family get togethers because if it wasn’t on my diet and at the exact time I needed to feed my body I didn’t fit in my plan. Life is short. Some people have looked at me ike I’m supposed to stay in tip top shape all year round but sometimes you just need a break from it all. I just turned 47 last month and It’s been 10 years since I’ve been on stage but I have to make one more run of it…just like in the last Rocky movie. Have fun in life and share your knowledge and experiences to help others. It’s the only life you’re ever gonna get!

    October 13, 2011 at 9:12 am

Leave a Reply

