Rest In Paradise Rick

This is the hardest post I have ever had to write.  This week has been a whirl wind of emotions, thoughts, and feelings.  I got bad news on Tuesday night from a great friend in Hawaii that my best friend in Hawaii had past away.  Rick was a great man who I will never forget.  This got me thinking, I have never lost a friend before.  It is something that I hope you never have to go through.  It sucks, you think about all the times you had together, the things you talked about, and the memories that you have shared together.

I met Rick when I moved to Hawaii and we were buddies ever since.  We have been through a lot together, some hard times and many great times.  We spent last Thanksgiving together out in Hawaii and he was there the first day of my Ironman training yelling at me on the run to slow down.  Haha, man if you could have seen it, his dog was keeping up with me and he said screw it and let me take his dog Maggie.  Rick came to DC to visit, it was hard to get him there since it was a huge city but since he was a history buff he loved biking through the city and looking at all the monuments and history.  He said it was like riding your bike through a history book.  Through the good times and bad we always were close.

Rick will be missed, he will be loved by all of his family and friends forever.  He was a brother to me and it hurts to see someone so young pass away but I know that he will be with me  through the rest of my life  and I will always have a running partner running right by my side yellling at me.

I love you Rick and you will never be forgotten! A hui hou (hawaiian for “till we meet again”.

A hui hou

One response

  1. Sorry to hear about your friend…I remember hearing about him over the years! May he rest peacefully.

    December 3, 2011 at 12:50 am

Leave a Reply

