First week of ultra training

It is underway, the training plan and the coach that I have for this year as I am entering the ultra year in full force.  I have never had a coach before so this is something that I thought would be hard to get use to.  As it turns out it is a huge help and knowing what I have to do when and the paces, where in the past I had to come up with all that.  The first week is always different, not just in training but with anything new, a new job, a new dog, a new anything, the first week is hard.  As with training the first week was hard.  I had to figure out when I would get my runs in, where they would occur and the overall new idea of a coach.

I could not be more stoked with the plan, the coach, and the road (or trail) ahead.  I am sore, and tired, but not due to training.  Wouldn’t you know that the first week I would get sick.  The weather here is crazy, February and the highs are in the upper 60’s one day then in the 40’s the next day.  This makes my sinuses hate me and make my nose run, sneeze, and the eyes water.  Hopefully it will be gone soon.

So in the grand scheme of things, the first week was great, around 35 miles on the legs with one day of rest and one cross training day.  Looking forward to more running next week with my long run being in a different environment, I am heading to San Francisco on Friday so I will get to do my long run with actual hills there!

And you better believe there will be plenty of pictures to come.  Have a great week and until next time, Aloha!

Leave a Reply

